Notable Zwift Events for the Weekend of September 25-26

Notable Zwift Events for the Weekend of September 25-26

A nice mixture of events to try this weekend, including the epic PRL Full. And if you like your running and fancy a challenge, a chance to do a marathon on Zwift!

DURA-ACE R9200 Sportive Series #2

As we reported earlier in the week,  Shimano has just released its new DURA-ACE R9200 groupset and Zwift has automatically applied it to three in-game frames: Specialized Tarmac SL7Canyon Aeroad 2021, and Pinarello Dogma F. And we can ride these upgraded bikes in this sportive series which is being hosted to celebrate!

Having ridden the first event, I found it fun.  I was slow to get off the start line (Bluetooth dropout) meant I was starting dead last, but I took it as a challenge to catch a group then try and surf from group to group.  It was a well-attended event and I can imagine there were some racing, but this sportive felt more like a group ride.  Small pockets of riders of similar abilities grouped together and completed the route.  A good event and worth a try with different route lengths to suit.

Stage #2 has two route options to choose from, both based in Watopia, which are:

  • A Group: Out and Back Again | 1 lap | 39.8 km (24.7 miles) 303m elevation
  • B Group: Figure 8 | 1 lap | 29.8 km (18.5 miles) 234m elevation

In addition, there are women-specific categories, too. Complete just one ride to unlock a new jersey.

Multiple dates and times, see all upcoming >

ZA Road Workout Workout #4 – Threshold Under/Overs

The suffering…. er training continues with Zwift Academy Workout 4. 

We’re now in block 2, which is designed to build sustained power after block 1 increased your VO2 Max. This will be achieved by performing longer efforts around your FTP, with a cadence element designed to enhance your responsiveness to gradient changes.

Multiple dates and times, see all upcoming >

Wahoo Le Col WTRL Group Recce Ride

Zwift Racing League resumes on 28 September and so the weekly Wahoo Le Col WTRL ZRL Recce Rides return!

These group rides offer racers the chance to scope out the upcoming ZRL courses prior to racing them.  Get a leg up on your competitors with firsthand experience on the racecourse.

Pace will be about 2.5w/kg and this week it is on Watopia’s Waistband. The session is timed at 90 minutes.

Saturday, September 25 @ 12:30pm CEST/11:30am BST/6:30am EDT
Event details and signup at zwift.com/events/view/2307180

PRL FULL With the REVO Crew

Check out Melissa’s first post for Zwift Insider about REVO’s PRL Full group ride. It’s a really well-done article explaining the details of the route, including tips such as where on the route you can grab some much-needed rest.

Having completed the PRL Full route on my own, I certainly would recommend completing it in a group.  Way more fun and undoubtedly faster too!

Saturday, September 25 @ 2:30pm CEST/1:30pm BST/8:30am EDT/5:30am PDT
Event deta
ils and signup at zwift.com/events/view/2202451

Zwift Run Festival (Marathon / Half Marathon)

Completing a marathon is a big undertaking, but to complete one on a treadmill is an incredible act of endurance, mentally as well as physically.  Obviously, this isn’t an event you can just “rattle off” but if you are currently in training for a marathon, or long distance running is simply your thing, then you might be interested in giving this a try.  There are other distances such as a half marathon, which may be more accessible to the wider community, which is all part of the Zwift Run Festival.

The Zwift Running Festival 2021 is a quarterly event with community runs in the different worlds.  This time it’s Makuri Islands.   Have your pick from one-mile fun runs, 5Ks, 10Ks, and even half and full marathons!

Multiple dates and times, see all upcoming >

Your Thoughts

Got other events that stand out this weekend? Share below in the comments!

About The Author

Tim Perkin

Tim is a six-year cancer survivor who has finally regained and surpassed pre-cancer fitness levels through the intense use of Zwift. For news about good events on Zwift follow him on Twitter @GoZwiftTim.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Free Zwift Trial

Newsletter Subscription

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x