This weekend the popular Ride Like King celebration is back in Zwift-land, and it includes pro rides, Buffalo Bike donations through WBR, a kit unlock, and prize giveaways! Here are the details…

About King

In 2007, at age 73, Giant Group company founder King Liu completed a 15-day, 927km ride around Taiwan. That ride sparked a renewed interest in King’s own cycling lifestyle and the benefits that cycling can have on health and fitness. Ride Like King began in 2009 as a small event within the Giant Group family to celebrate company founder King Liu’s passion for cycling, and this is the 3rd year the event has partnered with Zwift.

The WBR Buffalo Bike

Bring On the Buffalos

For each 1,200km completed by Zwifters during these events, Giant Group will donate a Buffalo bike to a rider in need via World Bicycle Relief.

Here’s a little math: all 4 stages total just over 150km. So 8 Zwifters riding all four stages would result in one Buffalo bike donation.

You can also make a donation at give.worldbicyclerelief.org/fundraiser/2812908.

Event Schedule

There are four different events:

  • Stage 1 – Friday at 11am BST/6am EDT/3am PDT: 2 laps of the Tick Tock route.
  • Stage 2 – Friday at 11pm BST/6pm EDT/3pm PDT: 2 laps of the Tempus Fugit route.
  • Stage 3 – Saturday at 9am BST/4am EDT/1am PDT: 3 laps of the Greater London Flat route.
  • Stage 4 – Sunday at 5pm BST/12pm EDT/9am PDT: 4 laps of the Gotham Grind route.

See schedule and sign up at zwift.com/events/series/ride-like-king-12 >

Riders will be assigned the Giant TCR Advanced SL for the open ride and the Liv Langma Advanced SL for the women’s only events.

Kit Unlock

Finish any one of the four rides to unlock the regal Ride Like King 12 kit. It includes dozens of little bike-riding kings covering the front and back.

Prizes

Riders who finish any of the stages are eligible to win IRL prizes. Five randomly chosen riders from each event will win a limited-edition Ride Like King 12 jersey, signed by the man himself.