Notable Zwift Events for the Weekend of October 2-3

Notable Zwift Events for the Weekend of October 2-3

This weekend’s picks are a rather eclectic mix: two Zwift Academy events, a fundraiser/cause, and a very unique race competition. Dive in!

Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation Ride

We have already reported about this event in detail (see Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation Rides Announced) and it’s certainly worthy event to attend and raise awareness and funds towards finding a cure for these painful and devastating diseases.

There are three events to try, starting on Friday. But the two for the weekend are as follows:

Ride #2: 2 October at 10am PDT/1pm EDT/6pm BST/7pm CEST

Ride #3: 3 October at 4pm PDT/7pm EDT

ZA Road Workout Workout #5 – Upper Threshold Blocks

This session is going to be a tough one. I’ve been saving this for the weekend because the daunting description means once undertaken you certainly won’t be on top form for racing and a recovery day will be needed.

“This session has you performing 30min of work near your FTP. Starting the first set at a higher intensity means lactate levels will increase slightly at the beginning without time to fully clear. Conversely, starting easy in the last set before building the intensity towards the end means you’ll have to generate hard efforts after nearly 50min of work and cumulative fatigue. Tiring, we know. But totally worth it.”

Multiple dates and times, see all upcoming >

ZA Road Finish Line Ride

For those who have completed Zwift Academy Road by undertaking the training independently, now is your chance to see how you have progressed by undertaking a Finish Line Ride.  Alternatively, given that some riders may have multiple workouts to complete and still plenty of time to train, this could actually be used as a checkpoint before embarking on the final weeks of intensive training before attempting a “final” Finish Line Ride.

The new routes are particularly good, especially the Climber’s Gambit.  It’s a nice change to have a mountaintop finish.

Multiple dates and times, see all upcoming >

Tour d’Invictus. Le Grand Depart

I came across this event by pure chance, and I think this would a great challenge to undertake.  Despite the event starting last weekend, there is still a chance to join in and catch up! The Invictus Games Foundation is coordinating a new virtual challenge following the route of the world’s most iconic cycle race – Tour de France. From 1200 (BST) Sunday 26th September to 1200 (BST) Sunday 17th October 2021, teams of 8 will have just three weeks to cover the 2124 miles / 3418 km route.

Participants have the choice of forming their own team of 8 cyclists or joining a Team Unconquered which are randomly selected teams with mixed nationalities, experience, and riding styles (upright/recumbent/hand/tricycle).

I appreciate you have missed a week, but consider it an extra challenge and one reminiscent of the old Tour de France where they cycled through the night, with spare tires on their backs!

To register please head to https://reg.resport.io/s/step1.jsp?ev=4810420531494912

Sunday, October 3 @ 3pm CEST/2pm BST/9am EDT/6am PDT
Event deta
ils and signup at zwift.com/events/view/2315101

Your Thoughts

Got other events that stand out this weekend? Share below in the comments!

About The Author

Tim Perkin

Tim is a six-year cancer survivor who has finally regained and surpassed pre-cancer fitness levels through the intense use of Zwift. For news about good events on Zwift follow him on Twitter @GoZwiftTim.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
2 Comments
oldest
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Kris
Kris
23 days ago

Thank you for these posts. How can I find out about events further out so I can train/taper and get time away from the family to do them with more notice? Is there anywhere that I can see what the main events will be in November or December yet? I know there’ll be something like the Tour de Zwift in mid Jan, but really I’d like to know with more certainty. For a real world event, I’d have identified it and entered at least 3 months out. There have been some great Zwift events that have been announced with only… Read more »

Free Zwift Trial

Newsletter Subscription

2
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x