Notable Zwift Events for the Weekend of August 28-29

Notable Zwift Events for the Weekend of August 28-29

Without a lot of high-profile events going on this weekend, we decided to focus on good causes for our picks. Zwifters have always been an amazingly supportive bunch. Let’s keep up the good work and get out there to help in any way we can!

Vitality for UNICEF Ride Series

You may have read my post earlier in the week about this ride.

I am keen to highlight this because the Vitality Ride Series forms a part of Vitality’s ongoing commitment with UNICEF to donate over 1 million vaccines worldwide through 2022. The partnership is built on Vitality’s shared-value model where personal health brings about better outcomes for society and Vitality’s insurance partners as a whole – a model which can have more impact than a traditional donation-based model. This model aligns closely with Zwift’s own mission to make more people, more active, more often.

Multiple dates and times, see all upcoming >

Team Novo Nordisk Group Ride

In December 2012 Phil Southerland and Novo Nordisk came together to create Team Novo Nordisk based on a shared vision to inspire, educate and empower people around the world affected by diabetes. This is a one-hour ride led by top Team Novo Nordisk pro athletes.

Team Novo Nordisk is a global all-diabetes sports team of cyclists. For more information visit teamnovonordisk.com.

Sunday August 29 @ 8pm CEST/5pm BST/12pm EDT/9am PDT
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2145604

TeamPTz – Joaquim Agostinho Ride

This is a ride to honor Joaquim Agostinho, a top Portuguese cyclist who died in 1984 at the age of 41. He won stages in several Grand Tours, include 4 Stages in the Tour de France and 3 stages in the Vuelta a España.  Whenever you climb Alpe d’Huez, at turn 14 you can see the J.A. statue in honor of his victory.

Saturday August 28 @ 10am CEST/9am BST/4am EDT
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2257991

Bikes for the Philippines Fun Race

This race is brought to you by Zwift Philippines riders to help draw attention to Bikes for the Philippines, a non-profit foundation that provides donated/used bicycles to deserving underprivileged students in the Philippines.

Saturday August 28 @ 7:30am CEST/6:30am BST/Friday 10:30pm PDT
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2257967

Ride to End ALZ Summer Challenge

This is “a cycling event that fights dementia”. Cyclists around the country are joining together virtually on August 29 to ride indoor and outdoor routes that fuel cutting-edge dementia research efforts. Grab your bike and ride along!

For more information on the Ride to End ALZ visit alz.org/ride.

Fundraising is encouraged, but not required to participate. Register, donate, and create a personal fundraising page >

Sunday, August 29 @ 3:30pm BST/2:30pm BST/9:30am EDT/6:30am PDT
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2256104

Your Thoughts

Got other events that stand out this weekend? Share below in the comments!

About The Author

Tim Perkin

Tim is a six-year cancer survivor who has finally regained and surpassed pre-cancer fitness levels through the intense use of Zwift. For news about good events on Zwift follow him on Twitter @GoZwiftTim.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
3 Comments
oldest
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Gordon Sloan
25 days ago

it’s the 28th/29th this weekend

Eddy Raptor
Eddy Raptor
25 days ago

Thanks for highlighting these events, I wouldn’t have known about these if it wasn’t for this post. I’d love to see this become a regular feature- highlighting rides for a good cause.

Free Zwift Trial

Newsletter Subscription

3
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x