Top Zwift Events for the Weekend of June 26-27

Top Zwift Events for the Weekend of June 26-27

This week, I am highlighting events that caught my eye for varying reasons. Each of these highlighted events has something unique about them!

Operation Overlord – WWTW Charity Ride

The Atom Racing Team is running a group ride to commemorate OPERATION OVERLORD, which began on 6 June 1944 on Normandy Beaches what is now called D-Day.

The ride is to commemorate the huge sacrifice of the Armed Forces during World War II.   

The ride is a social ride, so every category will be welcome to join. In addition, the ride is designed to raise the profile of a UK Armed Forces Charity, Walking With The Wounded.

Saturday June 26 @ 11am CEST/10am BST
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2092065

InternationElles Ride for Equality 2021

Who are the InternationElles? They are 10 amateur female riders based across the world and ride for equality. In 2019 they rode the full route of the Tour de France to campaign for a women’s race.   For more info please head to internationelles.com.

This is a social ride for 1 hour around Paris. A chance for people to ride together and chat using the Zwift Companion App.

Saturday June 26 @ 12pm CEST/11am BST/6am EDT
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2146878

Mike Tindall Ven-Top: Cure Parkinson’s

Join Mike Tindall for Raid Local 2021: Ventoux! This event is raising funds for Cure Parkinson’s, a charity dedicated to funding the most promising research into a cure for Parkinson’s.

Make a donation here >

Mike will lead this social ride for one lap of Ven-Top at 2.5 W/KG, taking on the world-famous Tour de France ascent of Mount Ventoux while raising funds for a cure.

For those who don’t know, Mike is married to Zara Philips, the Granddaughter of the Queen, oh and Mike is a former English Rugby Union player who won 75 caps for England between 2000 and 2011 and was a member of the English squad who won the 2003 Rugby World Cup. 

About Cure Parkinson’s Raid Local Cycle Challenge

It was born in 2020, when 95% of their fundraising events were canceled due to the pandemic, including the charity’s six-day Raid Alpine ride. Determined to continue to raise urgently needed funds, Cure Parkinson’s tried to replicate, on local roads and on Zwift, the first day of Raid Alpine. With COVID-19 restrictions limiting travel once again, Cure Parkinson’s launched the second edition of Raid Local, this time inspired by the legendary Mont Ventoux

Sunday June 27 @ 9am CEST/8am BST
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2152586

Aus Community Badge Hunter Series p/b GPLama

GPLama (which is run by Australian Shane Miller) provides a wealth of Zwift-related information via his YouTube channel.

Shane is going to be leading a ride in Watopia, on the Tour of Fire and Ice route.

This isn’t a race, more a relaxed training ride where I am sure you will be able to ask Shane any tech-related questions.  I’ve watched plenty of his videos but never ridden with him, so this might be a great opportunity to catch up with Shane and talk about all things tech-related.

Sunday June 27 @ 11:30pm CEST/10:30pm BST/5:30pm EDT/2:30pm PDT/7:30am AEST
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2091788

Monday’s Mountain Massif TT

3 months ago I undertook a bit of investigative journalism to understand how events are put on in Zwift, resulting in me creating a Zwift event.  On March 29th, 2021 the Monday’s Mountain Massif TT was launched: a brutal 12.15km TT up the Epic KOM reverse.  At the time of its launch, it was the only Mountain TT on the calendar. 

The event was well-attended, which led to it being hosted weekly on Mondays at 7pm CEST.  However, the evening timeslot in Europe meant that not everyone has been able to experience this uniquely challenging event… until now! 

On Monday 28th June the Mountain Massif TT is going to be operating in 2 timeslots, to cater for the global Zwift community, meaning a wider audience will have the opportunity to test their legs in this race.  The first event will be hosted at 12pm CEST, followed by its regular session at 7pm CEST.

I am extremely grateful to our friends in Zwift HQ for helping expand this event, ensuring that it is accessible to all and moreover fulfilling my promise I made to the community to expand this to cater for other time zones. I look forward to seeing new faces on the start line on Monday.

Two start times, see links above

Your Thoughts

Got other events that stand out this weekend? Share below in the comments!

About The Author

Tim Perkin

Tim is a six-year cancer survivor who has finally regained and surpassed pre-cancer fitness levels through the intense use of Zwift. For news about good events on Zwift follow him on Twitter @GoZwiftTim.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Free Zwift Trial

Newsletter Subscription

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x