Top Zwift Events for the Weekend of May 29-30

Top Zwift Events for the Weekend of May 29-30

We are creatures of habit, often sticking to the same events we know and love. I am guilty of that, for sure! So this weekend I am going to push the envelope and do something different by undertaking one of these events. Join me?

Cycling Ireland eRacing Chase

This is a bit of a fun event, a “Chase Race” – with Cat D riders going 8 minutes ahead of the A’s. It will be a real test to see if the A’s can catch the D’s and win the race!

Saturday May 29 @ 11AM CEST/10AM BST
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2103694

Ham Sandwich

Any workout with the name “Ham Sandwich” needs to be tried.

Ham Sandwich features sweet spot over/unders, with 30/30s sandwiched in between. The over/under intervals alternate between 2 min @88% FTP and 30 secs @110% FTP. The 30/30s up the ante a bit and alternate between 30 secs @130% FTP and 30 secs @50% FTP. Yes, there are rest breaks, but they are purposely short to keep the heart rate and metabolic demands up.  

Actually, after that brutal undertaking, you might be ready for a real ham sandwich.

Saturday May 29 @ 8:15PM CEST/7:15PM BST/2:15PM EST/11:15AM PST
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2103820

Deeside Snow Sprint Series

This is sprinter’s race.  It seems simple enough: you sprint each segment and get points.  The winner is the one with the most points. But then, I read more into it and there are also points for the KOM.  In short, it feels like it will be one big sprint.  It’s worth a go as it seems rather novel but I’d be interested to see how it all hangs together.  The full description of the event reads:  

“This is a points race based on timed segments at various sprint points. Points are awarded based on segment time and not first across the line. So this is a sprint competition. Points are awarded for each category A, B, C and D as follows: 100, 85, 75, 66, 58, 51, 45, 39, 34, 29, 25, 21, 18, 15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2. There will be sprints at every sprint segment and KOM on the course. There will be a league table on ZwiftPower: DTCC-SNOWMAN league and your best 10 races count. There are no points for the finish and you can ride as quickly or slowly as you like between the Sprints. There will also be a team competition based on the fastest team rider over the segment, so you can choose to try a lead-out train. Get creative with your tactics. You will need to be registered with ZwiftPower to score points, see the results and view the league table.”

This certainly meets my weekend’s criteria of “try something different”.

Saturday May 29 @ 5:15PM CEST/4:15PM BST/11:15AM EST/8:15AM PST
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2103795

Mt. Fuji Hill Climb Dojo Challenge Race

I wrote about the Mount Fuji Hill Climb Dojo Series 2021 what feels like only yesterday and now the main event is here.  If you are Europe-based and are having trouble sleeping, this might be the race for you.  There is already a large number of riders signed up to race, so if you fancy an early morning (or late night) mountain battle, then sign up.   

Sunday May 30 @ 10AM JST/3AM CEST Saturday May 29 @ 9PM EST/6PM PST
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/1811936

STPC Gravel Grinder

Before the launch of the new, beautiful world of Yumezi, I had bought a gravel bike and only used it once in a concept race that lasted only 4 minutes. “Drops well spent” you could say! Anyway, this race has varying distances and is hosted on the “Dust in the Wind” course and utilises gravel bikes only. So if you fancy racing a gravel bike, give this a go.

Sunday May 30 @ 12PM CEST/11AM BST/6AM EST/3AM PST
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2105423

Honourable Mention – 3R Mountain Madness Steady Ride – Lap 1 of vEveresting Challenge

The day of reckoning has arrived for members of the 3R vEveresting Academy, as they kick off their epic vEveresting adventure with this event. You can read about how their training progressed and if you feel inspired, join in and tackle the vEveresting challenge. This is ascent 1 of 8.5. Learn more about the event here >

Saturday May 29 @ 8AM CEST/7AM BST
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2103648

Your Thoughts

Got other events that stand out this weekend? Share below in the comments!

About The Author

Tim Perkin

Tim is a six-year cancer survivor who has finally regained and surpassed pre-cancer fitness levels through the intense use of Zwift. For news about good events on Zwift follow him on Twitter @GoZwiftTim.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
4 Comments
oldest
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jake Sanderson
Jake Sanderson
4 months ago

Great article, thanks so much for mentioning our Deeside SNOW Sprint Series, we have an event page at; https://m.facebook.com/DTCCSnowmanSprintSeries/?ref=bookmarks

John Dunn
John Dunn
4 months ago

There is something here for everyone! So many creative and new concepts. I really appreciate gravel bikes finally getting some love. I have spent hard earned drops on the Cervelo Aspero, Canyon Grail and the Canyon CX rig. Gravel bikes for gravel! My avatar wouldn’t ever be seen on a mountain bike!

Heidi
Heidi
4 months ago

You did an awesome job with your vEverest and 10k/vm. I loved having you there to inspire and support me and everyone else on the Alpe. Cheers

Free Zwift Trial

Newsletter Subscription

4
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x