Top Zwift Events for the Weekend of May 1-2

Top Zwift Events for the Weekend of May 1-2

Spring is here in the Northern Hemisphere and most are drawn outside for a ride with friends around the local country lanes.  If you are lucky, perhaps your local club rides have restarted!

But the dilemma we now face is that there are still some excellent events on Zwift!  If you are like me, you’ll end up doing two rides: one outside followed by a session on Zwift. Here are my top events on Zwift over this weekend.

Ride with INEOS Grenadiers – Around the World

Pro cycling team INEOS-Grenadiers are hosting a series of 1-hour rides throughout the day May 1st.  Each hour, a different pro cyclist from the team is going to lead a group ride on a different course across Zwift, so either ride at a time that suits you, or opt to race with your favorite riders – the choice is yours.

The cyclists leading the rides are current Giro d’Italia Champion, Tao Geoghegan Hart, recent Volta a Catalunya winner, Adam Yates, former World Champion, Michal Kwiatkowski, along with Ben Swift, Dani Martínez, Michal Golas, Dylan van Baarle, Ethan Hayter, Leonardo Basso, and Jhonatan Narváez 

Multiple times. See full event list at zwift.com/events/series/ineos-grenadiers-around-the-world

Team Challenge for Crohn’s & Colitis

Team Challenge is a group of people riding together to help fight against Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis, two painful and debilitating inflammatory bowel diseases.

The ride is one hour in duration and this particular event offers a structured training session, consisting of an Over-Under session, meaning you are training a few beats below and a few beats above lactate threshold or FTP. This is designed to improve threshold and endurance. 

Saturday May 1st at 4pm BST/11am EDT/8am PDT
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2007949

LEQP Provence Badge Hunter Series

No weekend is complete without a ride with the LEQP Provence Badge Hunters.

We covered about L’Equipe Provence Badge Hunters earlier in the year and the team are still out there hunting the badges.  These excellent group rides are always well-attended.  This week, the team are out hunting the 100km badge on Tempus Fugit.  A customized jersey is your reward for finishing!

Sunday May 2nd at 8:30am CEST/7:30am BST
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2043558

3R Women’s Sunday Rollout

This is a new event aimed specifically at the Ladies.  3R is offering a Women’s steady (2.5w/kg) ride, with a brief warmup to get up to speed, lasting 60 minutes.  It will be led by the women of Race3R and the group will remain a solid pack throughout. The women from the club are aiming to create an inclusive community where women come together to support and encourage each other, as well as build strength and fitness. 

Sunday May 2nd at 4pm CEST/3pm BST/10am EDT/7am PDT
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2025941

Bonbon (Group Workout)

Check out the session plan

If you are short on time but still want to get a Zwift session done, you won’t go far wrong with this workout. 40 minutes in duration, this interval session is designed to work muscular strength and endurance.  It is tough and will leave you gasping for breath by the end. 

Sunday May 2nd at 6:25pm BST/1:25pm EDT/10:25am PDT
Sign up at zwift.com/events/view/2043714

Your Thoughts

Got other events that stand out this weekend? Share below in the comments!

About The Author

Tim Perkin

Tim is a six-year cancer survivor who has finally regained and surpassed pre-cancer fitness levels through the intense use of Zwift.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
2 Comments
oldest
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
nardix
nardix (@renato-nardello)
6 days ago

Thanks for this. It looks like the most boring weekend ever! ☹️

Fred Erik
Fred Erik
6 days ago

Thanks, i like this type of posts with all highlights for the next week or weekend.

2
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x