This weekend concludes the Virtual Tour de France along with the massively popular L’Etape du Tour series. You’ll want to participate in those, but there are a couple of other standout events as well – here are our picks!

Special thanks to Jesper at ZwiftHacks with his Events app which provides powerful event filtering tools that help us create this list each week.

L’Etape du Tour, Stage 3

This weekend is the final stage of L’Etape du Tour, and it’s a tough one! Come take on the Ven-Top route, which takes you up Zwift’s newest and longest climb – Mont Ventoux! The timed climb section is 19km long, with 1480 meters of elevation gain.

Tens of thousands of Zwifters will be there suffering together so we’ll have solidarity if nothing else…

Multiple event times, visit the event homepage for schedule and signup

Watch the Virtual Tour de France, Stages 5 & 6

Tomorrow is our final weekend of Virtual Tour de France action, and you don’t want to miss it, as the two race routes are the most iconic yet – Mont Ventoux and Champs-Élysées!

The pro teams are bringing some big guns to these final stages, too. Start lists include Chris Froome, Julian Alaphilippe, Rigoberto Urán, Romain Bardet, Adam Yates, Rohan Dennis, Warren Barguil, and Dan Martin for the men, while the women include Lizzie Deignan, Marianne Vos, Chloé Dygert, Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio, Anna van der Breggen, Kasia Niewiadoma, Katie Hall, and Cecilie Uttrup-Ludwig.

Watch the racing on Zwift’s Youtube channel >

Stage 3: Saturday at 1:53pm BST/8:53am EDT/5:53am PDT
Stage 4: Sunday at 1:50pm BST/8:50am EDT/5:50am PDT

Sport for Good Peloton (Nelson Mandela Day)

Founded under the patronage of the great Nelson Mandela, Laureus Sport for Good uses sport as a powerful and cost-effective tool to help children and young people overcome violence, discrimination, and disadvantage in their lives.

South Africa’s team NTT Cycling, collectively Laureus Ambassadors, have traditionally celebrated Mandela Day on July 18, while taking part in the Tour de France. July 18, 2020 marks the 20th Nelson Mandela International Day. In honor of this, Zwift is hosting two group rides supported by South Africa’s NTT pro cyclists as well as other Laureus Ambassadors.

Nelson Mandela spent 67 years of his life fighting for social justice, so we’ll be riding for 67 minutes. Groups are categorized by pace.

Want to contribute? Head to the donation page.

Multiple times, see schedule for details and signup

ZHR Audax

Ready to go long? You won’t find many group rides on Zwift that go for 300km! The ZHR Audax rides aren’t a race, but a personal challenge. An Audax is a cycling event in which participants attempt to cycle the distance within a pre-defined time limit. It is a non-competitive sport: success in an event is measured by its completion within the specified time limits, and receive equal recognition regardless of their finishing order.

The category you select determines your length:

  • Group A – 300km
  • Group B – 200km
  • Group C – 161km
  • Group D – 100km
  • Group E – 50km

Three events this weekend:
Saturday at 9:15am BST/4:15am EDT/1:15am PDT
Sunday at 9:15am BST/4:15am EDT/1:15am PDT
Sunday at 4pm BST/11am EDT/8am PDT

Your Thoughts

Got other events that stand out this weekend? Share below in the comments!