Zwift Announces Planned Outage Monday Night PDT

Zwift Announces Planned Outage Monday Night PDT

Zwift HQ has asked us to share the word about an upcoming service outage which will affect access to the game and other Zwift services on all devices.

According to ZHQ, this is being done “in order to upgrade our system performance and stability, ensuring even greater service and reliability for our Zwift community!” It appears to be a major database migration, as impacted services include anything requiring a login such as the game itself, Zwift Companion, and Zwift.com, including the forums.

ZHQ is planning a 4-hour maintenance window for this outage to be safe, but our sources tell us there’s a very good chance service could be restored within 1.5-2 hours. Best not to plan an important ride during the maintenance window, though!

Scheduled Downtime

Here is the maintenance schedule by major timezone:

  • London:  2:00am – 6:00am GMT | October 27, 2020
  • Los Angeles: 7:00pm – 11:00pm PDT | October 26, 2020
  • New York: 10:00pm – 2:00am EDT | October 26-27, 2020
  • Sydney: 1:00pm – 5:00pm AEST | October 27, 2020
  • Tokyo: 11:00am – 3:00pm JST | October 27, 2020

Status updates will be provided via Zwift’s status page.

About The Author

Eric Schlange

Eric runs Zwift Insider in his spare time when he isn't on the bike or managing various business interests. He lives in Northern California with his beautiful wife, two kids and dog. Follow on Strava

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
12 Comments
oldest
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
M4rk0
M4rk0
10 months ago

Hopefully this is step 1 in implementing an overhaul of the UI.

M4rk0
M4rk0
10 months ago
Reply to  Eric Schlange

Bummer

Ignis-fatuus
Ignis-fatuus
10 months ago
Reply to  M4rk0

Didn’t they postpone the UI update because of Covid and the increase of users on the platform? Well, summer came and went along with their flimsy excuse for not delivering on what they had promised. My guess is that we’ll see a vaccine before ZHQ rolls out their update they claimed was near ready to publish. Honestly, if they ever do roll out their UI update it will likely come as a byproduct to having rewritten their entire game engine–one which would use a halfway decent graphics platform and a completely rethought and restructured codebase.

KingBathSalts
KingBathSalts
10 months ago
Reply to  Ignis-fatuus

UI or HUD? Zwifter mix them up all the time.

James Eastwood
James Eastwood (@jeastwood)
10 months ago
Reply to  Ignis-fatuus

They’ve already confirmed it was scrapped

Joshua Hopkins
Joshua Hopkins (@joshualhopkins)
10 months ago
Reply to  Ignis-fatuus

The way I heard it, the ui change was to make it easier for apple tv which in retrospect was a bad idea so it was scrapped. I think you can hear more details about it on the zwiftcast where they interview the CEO.

Rusty
Rusty
10 months ago

The times for Sydney are correct but they are currently observing AEDT

Aaa
Aaa
10 months ago
Reply to  Rusty

Pretty sure they’re wrong, they should be am not pm

Aaa
Aaa
10 months ago
Reply to  Aaa

Nevermind pm is right, timezones are hard

Spinmonkey
Spinmonkey (@geoffspinmonkey)
10 months ago

And we are operational again. Finished early

Hugo Wwlker
Hugo Wwlker (@hugh-walker)
10 months ago
Reply to  Spinmonkey

Yep I already got my first 100 km of the day in…j/k j/k…amazed Zwift is up aleady…well done!

Free Zwift Trial

Newsletter Subscription

12
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x